The Apartment- By Danielle Steel

Dear friends,

I am starting my first book review with The Apartment by Danielle Steel.

I had an hour of free time between dropping off and picking up my kids from an Thursday  night art class. So I headed to the library. I straight  ahead stood in front of the New Fiction section, browsed the rows of books from top left to bottom right and I stopped at this book.

I usually glance through the jacket  to get a summary of what the book is about.

Four independent women, friends living in NewYork City. That sold me the book. I flipped through the first couple of pages right there in a quiet corner of the library and then by the end of the hour I brought the book home.

The book is neither thumbs up nor thumbs down. It is pretty much about Life, As we know it. It is about friendship, love, heartbreak, family and in the end friends becoming family!

The story is set in NewYork city in the neighborhood of Hell’s Kitchen. I am aways excited about NYC, and the whimsical feeling that you get when hearing about the great city. So, I was expecting the author would take us deep into the city life in much great detail but I was disappointed. The story mostly focuses on the four women sharing a Loft in NYC’s Hell’s Kitchen. The author  dives right into the characters, their busy lives, their aspirations, dreams, commitments and how everything goes wrong and then yet everything will become alright.

My favorite character is Sasha, the OB/GYN. I could relate to her more easily than anyone else. I admired her character where she is beautiful, intelligent and is very sure of what she wants and also I admired her values as opposed to her erratic sister/model Veronica. Mostly because of my upbringing and my culture. I was hoping that my daughters would one day be like Sasha. I also loved Sasha’s man Alex and his relationship with his parents.

The book takes you through the journey of these four beautiful, independent and intelligent women who have shared the loft and have lived together for 9 years.

In the course of 9 years their life goes through ups and downs. There is happiness and heart break. There is this unflinching bond among friends, friends who are more like family. The male partners who truly love and worship their women and then a couple  who subject them to deceit. There is tears, there is joy, there are fun moments where the whole gang have just simple good fun. As a reader I was looking forward to their Sunday night dinners and guessing what Max might cook that night.

In the end the book made me happy. It is about life as we know it. It made me wonder if there could be anywhere in the world such strong friendship among women where there is no jealousy, no judgement. Just pure friendship.

Comment

