Spinach Rotis

What gives me motivation to write a blog post?

Motivation! That is right! It takes a lot of motivation to keep  your blog updated.

I have been reading all over the web about how to increase traffic to the blog and how to get your blog noticed. And in most cases, it is said that, it is really important to write well AND write frequently.

But how? Where is the time? where is the motivation?

With two kids around, it gets really hard to do the most basic chores in your day-to-day routine, let alone coming up with a blog post.

A few weeks ago, I was on a cooking spree. I was just whipping things up in my kitchen like a robot. I was so inspired and enthusiastic to cook new dishes and just display them in front of my Hub. I had fresh ideas, innovative dishes on my mind and was dreaming day and night about how I can post all of them on my blog with great pictures. Not everything made it to the blog, but those that have made  it were a result of great enthusiasm. But, all of a sudden , I don’t know what happened, all my spirits went down, just like the air out of a balloon. I felt dull, withdrawn and lazy even to make myself a cup of coffee.

But since food is a basic necessity, I did cook everyday but there was nothing great about it. Just a simple rasam sometimes or the same Baath that I have cooked probably a zillion times so far.

The weather played a major factor too. There were continuous HOT days here in Boston. We had heat wave warnings and it was pretty bad. With the weather so hot ,usually we do not feel like eating much. so we snacked and munched on slices and slices of watermelons and cucumbers. We cooled ourselves with a small helping of yogurt rice during the night.

Things have gotten better now and slowly my attention is turning towards my poor blog. I said to myself, ” I have to do it”. “no matter what”.

Now I had to get motivated myself to cook and blog about it. I thought I will try this strategy.And I did. And it worked pretty well,coz you are reading this post 🙂

I watched regularly all cooking shows on food network. I read quite a lot of food blogs and ogled at  the beautiful pictures. I browsed through many food websites and just read the names of many many dishes. It evoked my senses. And before I knew it, I was drooling in my mind imagining and tasting some spicy dishes. I also made  a “cook to blog list” while I was watching one of the food network shows.  Next thing I know, I found myself in the Indian store shopping some nice stuffs. My brain was recharged. My senses evoked and my mind motivated.

I physically got up on my feet and headed towards the kitchen with great vigor and made these truly delicious Spinach rotis.

Hope you all will enjoy!

Spinach Rotis:

2 cups of whole wheat flour( I used Sujata atta)

2 cups finely chopped baby spinach

1 tsp turmeric powder

3 cloves of Garlic finely grated

6 green chillies, finely chopped

salt

2 tbsp oil

water for kneading the dough.

Method:

In a large bowl, combine all of the ingredients and knead into a soft pilable dough using little water at a time.

Once the dough is ready, take small portion of the dough and roll them into thin rotis.

On a hot griddle, cook the rotis until they turn a little golden brown on both sides.

You may  use some oil on the sides of the roti while it is cooking.

Once it is done, serve it with pickle of your choice and some cool yogurt.

Note: This roti tastes equally good when eaten cold too. You can store them in a wrapped aluminum foil or in another box for later consumption.

Comment

