Green gram sprouts salad with Avocado

To start with, I made these sprouts at home. It is very simple really. Why to spend those bucks when you can make them right here at home. You don’t really have to stand in front of them and get your hands in there to actually “make” these sprouts.

With a little care the sprouts beautifully pop out from the mung beans all by themselves.

Thanks to my mom-in-law who taught me how to make them.

Soak the green grams in lots of water in a wide bowl, for almost a whole day. Then at night, drain all of the water from the bowl, leaving behind  a little , just enough to wet the green grams.

Cover the bowl and tuck it in for the night in a warm place(I always like use my oven) And, that is it!

The next morning you can see the beautiful white sprouts popping out. If you leave them there a little longer, the sprout grows longer.

Green gram sprouts are not new in my kitchen. I love them. I love the most South Indian version of it called the Usali, where the grams are pressure cooked and then tempered with green chillies and mustard seeds and topped of with coconut and lemon juice.

But when eating the raw sprouts became more and more popular, I started to make less and less of the cooked version.

Ever since I read this post, I have been wanting to make this salad. Specially since I love Avocados and I am always trying new ways to use them.

I have changed the recipe a bit to make it more “desi”, by adding a lot of finely chopped green chillies.

1 cup green gram sprouts

1 small onion finely chopped

1 tomato finely chopped

1 ripe avocado, cut into small cubes

salt, lemon juice

4 finely minced green chillies

Toss all of the ingredients in a bowl. Mix together and serve.

2 thoughts on “Green gram sprouts salad with Avocado

Comment

