Chickpea salad with Yogurt dressing

phew!!! Finally!!! I put my baby down for a nap and my first one went and snuggled next to her Appa. My back hurts and my feet aches. Its Saturday afternoon 2 pm. and I still have a day and a half to get over with the weekend.

With two little cubs in the house it is a jungle out here 🙂 At first, I thought I too will take a nap next to my baby, then I realized I have one more child to attend to. My sweet little blog. A newborn.

Ever since I started to blog, it seems like a big responsibility. Never in my wildest dreams did I think that blogging can take so much of my time ,thinking and attention. Blogging needs discipline and organizing. Specially, if there is food involved. On one hand I have all the food pictures sitting in the folder, but no content related to it. And on the other hand I have drafted the content of a few posts, but there are no appropriate pictures. Yesterday, I drafted out a beautiful post for my Spicy yogurt rice with Dijon Mustard and in just one shot my cruiser started banging on the keyboard of my laptop and my post got deleted 😦

I screamed, noooo. I just wanted to dive into my computer screen and save my post, but alas..

Please dear YOU ALL,come back for the recipe again.

But, I love this new child of mine. It is very very comforting, relaxing and peaceful when I am writing. It just reflects me and my beautiful life . It is a companion, a friend, a child, a joy. Most importantly this blog reaches out to YOU. It is FOR YOU. I have plans, I have dreams about this blog. I want to make sense with this blog. I will just hope for it to happen, one day.

Now are you ready for the recipe?

I made this salad as a side to go with rice. My husband is a kind of guy who always wants something on the side for his meal. So, it was for him.

This salad is so simple and so summery. It iseasy to put together specially if you already have some cooked chick peas.

Waht we need:

1 cup of cooked chick peas/ canned chick peas

1 tomato finely chopped

1 small onion finely chopped

1 cup of finely chopped cucumber

finely chopped cilantro

For the dressing:

1 cup of lowfat yogurt

1tsp roasted cumin powder

A pinch of chilli powder

1 tsp Chaat masala

salt

A pinch of sugar

Method:

First in a bowl wisk together all the dressing ingredients and keep it aside. The dressing ahs to be creamy. So beat the yogurt well.

Next, In another bowl put all the chopped vegetables together with the chick peas. As you can see, I have used this plastic container.

Just pour the dressing on top of the vegetables and mix well. serve chilled or immediately.

Hey, my daugther loved it. Oh and so did my hub 🙂

Comment

