Tags

, , ,

IMG_4073

I would like to call this dish as a perfect blend of the two most beautiful seasons: The spring and the Fall.

The bright fresh green of the cilantro and specks of brown , orange and green of the vegetables and beans combine together to form this visual treat.

Just as I finished grinding the cilantro, its fresh scent wafted and swept across the kitchen and hit my nose and got into my head :). It took me hours to get the aroma out of my head. And, It tasted as good as it smelled.

On a typical day, my lunch menu includes a rice item with combination of rasam and raita. Hence I always have a bag of frozen vegetable in the freezer, as they come in handy when I need them.

So this time I had this bag of frozen veggies which was a combination of both vegetables and beans. It’s  called the Mediterranean Blend.  It had broccoli, snap peas, kidney beans, lima beans, chick peas, carrots, cauliflower , all of  it in one bag!!!

That  mixed with fresh ground cilantro resulted in this beautiful and tasteful rice dish which I relished ( and I am sure you will too!) for the rest of the day. Yumm!

What we need:

2 cups of rice cooked and cooled( preferably Basamati)

2 cups of mixed veggies ( fresh or frozen)

To grind:

2 cups of fresh cilantro

1 medium onion

5-6 green chillies

Masalas:

1 tsp Jeera (cumin)

1 tsp ginger garlic paste

1 tsp garam masala

1 tsp biriyani masala ( home made or store bought)

oil

Method:

Cook the rice and spread it out to cool.

Next grind everything under “to grind” section above. Add very less water to form a thick paste.

In a pan pour 3 tbsp of oil. once hot, add cumin. When the cumin crackles add the mixed vegetables and fry them until they are tender.

Add the ginger garlic paste and fry for a minute more.

Add the rest of the masalas and salt  and cook for a minute more.

Then add the ground coriander paste to the mixed vegetables and fry until the raw flavor of the coriander paste fades away and the whole mixture cooks through and separates oil. The final mixture is dark green with vegetables.

Turn off the heat.

Finally mix the cooled rice with the vegetable mixture. adjust salt.( I usually add a tbsp of oil while mixing rice. taht gives a nice shine and texture to the rice, which otherwise might look dry).

Serve with raita or just plain yogurt.

